News, Radio

We’ve been nominated for 11 I Love Student Radio Awards!

News, Radio

We’ve been nominated for 11 I Love Student Radio Awards!

1 year ago
By Earyel Bowleg

This year, Smoke Radio has been nominated for 11 I Love Student Radio Awards – holding the record for receiving the second most amount of nominations this year.

There are eight categories for the awards and the station and its members have been nominated for:

Outstanding Contribution to Student Radio:
Stephen Small
Sara Motie
Callum Denning

Best Audience Initiative:
Europes Best Carparks
Regent Street
So You Think This is Funny

Hero of the Moment:
Skylar McDonald

Best Outreach Project:
Smoke Unplugged

Most Committed Committee Member:
Gabriel Green
Rhys Gunter

Most Improved Station:
Smoke Radio

Station Manager Rhys Gunter was “so overwhelmed” by the nominations Smoke Radio has achieved. He has commended the committee for working “tirelessly” over the last few months and it is fantastic to see this recognised.

“I am honoured to have such a great, committed, and talented team, my thanks goes to them for their hard work. I would like to send my congratulations to everyone at Smoke Radio for their fantastic efforts and work.”

Some of the nominees, Gabriel Green and Sara Motie, were totally shocked to find out via Twitter.

“I wasn’t expecting it AT ALL,” Sara said “I was literally tweeting Stephen to say congrats for his nomination and then in my Twitter notifications I saw my one. It felt a bit out of the blue”

When the announcement came for Gabriel’s nomination, it was revealed he got about ten nominations. He “it means so much to me that my work has been noticed.”

Fay Cross, previous deputy station manager, accepting an I Love Student Radio Award last year.

But for Stephan and Callum, they are no stranger to the feeling of being consider for such a prestigious award.

Last year, both of the boys were nominated for Committee Member of the Year. The I Love Student Radio Awards are always so much fun, so to be nominated for two of them for a second-year running is amazing!” admitted Stephan.

It’s bittersweet as this is their final year to eligible to be considered for this award.

Callum reflected “It’s great that I’ll get the chance to celebrate the end of my three years with Smoke and the success of my peers and the station as a whole at Conference next month.”

The I Love Student Radio Awards ceremony will be held at the University of East Anglia. Winners will be announced on the second night of the National Student Radio Conference and it will be hosted by Capital South Wales presenters Josh Andrews and Kally Loren.